Exam “Game Day”

By Trevor S. Mitchell, CAE | ARMA International

In reflecting back, the day of the exam was very similar to the days I played sports in high school.  It was as much about being in the right mental and physical state as it was about the exam itself.  The night before I had a good meal, didn’t study anything, had everything ready to go, and went to bed at a normal time.

The next morning I woke up, had a good breakfast, and didn’t focus on the exam at all.  All of my study material was packed up.  I knew at that point that reviewing it anymore was only going to make things worse, not better.  I continually repeated to myself that I knew the information, I had done everything that I could to prepare, and that I was going to do my best.  On the drive over to the exam site I had the music on and made sure each song had a positive, uplifting beat to keep me focused.

When I arrived at the testing center, I got myself situated and familiar with the location.  I made sure I was relaxed and ready.  At no point did I ever let negative thoughts come in to my mind.  I knew that would be my downfall if I did.  I completed the exam in 3 of the 4 allotted hours.  I marked all over that booklet to better help me dissect the questions.  I would skip questions if I was having issues understanding what they were asking.  I marked certain questions if I thought that more than one answer was too close and wanted to verify it.  I took the opportunity to challenge two questions that I thought were “poor” and needed to be reworked.  There were times where I would just close my eyes for a minute to rest and refocus.  I knew from the pre-tests that after a certain point I would need to have these mini breaks to be successful.

After the exam I knew that I did the best that I could and there was nothing else I could have done differently.  I took a little bit of time to reflect on the questions and wondered if I had answered them correctly.  This was a good exercise as it allowed me to wind down from the exam.  There were times were I would go back and forth between “I know I passed” to “I know I failed”.  I quickly stopped this or it was going to make the next 8 weeks drag on worse than I was already anticipating for them to be.  It was now time to wait.

Contact Trevor S. Mitchell, CAE
trevor.mitchell@armaintl.org

Leave a comment